Wales News Online

Local & National News for Wales

Lantra Cymru Awards 2021 – Minister announces and congratulates this year’s award winners

“EVERY nominee for this year’s Lantra Cyrmu Awards scheme has demonstrated their commitment to lifelong learning, to increasing efficiency, introducing innovation and maintaining the highest standards across all areas of working,” said Lesley Griffiths, Minister for Environment, Energy and Rural Affairs.

Due to the restrictions of Covid 19, which meant the award scheme had to be organised and judged remotely, the Minister pre-recorded a message released today (Tuesday, February 9) in which she named all this year’s award winners, thanking and congratulating all the nominees as well participants from previous years.

Leading Welsh agriculturalist Mr Peter Rees, chair of Lantra Wales, chaired this year’s selection panel, which included agricultural figurehead and academic Professor Wynne Jones and journalist Gaina Morgan.

Mr Rees said that the event was always one of the highlights of the annual Welsh farming calendar adding that it was testament to all the industry’s rural stakeholders, including colleges and training providers, that despite the pandemic they had identified and nominated many outstanding individuals.

“The Lantra Cymru Awards scheme, now in its 26th year, rewards the lifelong learning achievements of the many workers who, through their skills and abilities, contribute not only to farming but to the wider rural agenda in Wales, our rural economy and to the communities where they live and work.

“Each nominee’s clear commitment to continuous professional development and achievements within the environmental and land-based sectors, is doing so much to maintain professional, up to date standards within our industry.

“Each one of them is making a significant contribution, not only within their own particular area of working, but to the sustainability and modernisation of Welsh agriculture long term,” said Mr Rees.

Farming Connect is delivered by Menter a Busnes and Lantra Wales and funded by the Welsh Government and the European Agricultural Fund for Rural Development.

Lantra Cymru Awards 2021 – categories and winners

Lifetime Achievement Award – which recognises an individual who has made an ‘outstanding and significant’ contribution to Welsh agriculture.

Winner: Brian Rees, Llandrindod Wells

Brynle Williams Award – Winner: Emyr Owen, Bodrach, Pandy Tudur, North Wales.

Farming Connect Farm Innovation Award – Winner: Osian Williams, Welshpool.

Farming Connect Young Learner Award for individuals under 40 –

Runner up: Marged Sian Simons.

Winner: Gerallt Hughes, Ffridd Nantlle, Caernarfon.

Lifelong Learner of the Year Award for individuals over 40

Runner up: Helen Hall, Rhydlewis, Ceredigion

Winner: Debbie Morgan, Abergavenny

Farming Connect Animal Health and Welfare Award –

Joint runner up -Christine Vaughan, Crymych, Pembrokeshire

Joint runner up- Angharad Bennett, Cilycwm, Llandovery.

Farming Connect Animal Health and Welfare award – Winner: Bridget Barnes, Forest Coal Pit, Abergavenny.

Photo credit: Farming Connect / Lantra Cymru 2021 Awards

%d bloggers like this: