Wales News Online

Local & National News for Wales

THERE will be no need for Blaenau Gwent residents to go to the polls on May 5 to elect councillors for Town and Community councillors across the county borough.

This is because the list published on Wednesday, April 6 reveals that there are are more vacancies than candidates for the town and community council wards in Blaenau Gwent.

Across Blaenau Gwent there were 12 town and community council wards where nominations had been sought for to potentially elect 69 councillors – but only 42 people have actually put their names forward.

This means that the town and community councils will be able to co-opt the candidates rather than hold a vote.

A decision to confirm this needs to be taken by April 26.

A spokesman for Blaenau Gwent County Borough Council said: “The statements of persons nominated have been published which show details of all candidates that have submitted valid nominations.

“The next set of notices to be published will be the notice of poll, situation of polling stations and the notices of uncontested election.

“These have to be published not later than 26 April.”

“None of the community wards in Blaenau Gwent are contested and the Town and Community Council’s will be able to fill the vacant seats by co-option.”

The spokesman added that confirmation of co-opting councillors could be published earlier than April 26.

Here is the list of candidates:

ABERBEEG – electing three councillors

Michaela Assiratti – Independent

Josh Rawcliffe – Independent

Graham White – not listed

ABERTILLERY – electing five councillors

Tracey Dyson – Independent

Robert Phillips – Welsh Labour

Nic Simmons – not listed

Mariola Walters – Plaid Cymru – The Party of Wales

BLAINA – electing eight councillors

Lilian Harris – Independent

Carole Hillman – Independent

Lydia King – Independent

Mike Williams – Independent

BRYNMAWR NORTH – electing eight councillors

Barrie Sutton – Welsh Labour

Joel Sutton – Welsh Labour

Andrew James Talbot – Welsh Labour

BRYNMAWR SOUTH electing eight councillors

Debbie Brown – Welsh Labour

Jules Gardner – Welsh Labour

John Hill – Independent

Gerwyn Jones – Welsh Labour

Martyn Hillier – Welsh Labour

Olwen Swales – Welsh Labour

CWMTILLERY electing five councillors

Roger Clark – Independent

Glyn Smith – not listed

Charles Bernard Wall – Welsh Labour

GEORGETOWN electing four councillors

Pierre Cornlouer – Welsh Labour

Kevin Mark Phillips – Welsh Labour

Gerran John Walters – Welsh Labour W

LLANHILLETH electing three councillors

Ben Owen-Jones – Plaid Cymru – The Party of Wales

Barrie Page – Plaid Cymru – The Party of Wales

NANTYGLO electing eight councillors

Des Hillman – Independent

Keith Jenkins – Independent

Ken Jones – Independent

Glyn Morvan – Independent

SIRHOWY – electing six councillors

Gemma Diane Badham – Welsh Labour

Allan Cox Jones – Welsh Labour

Ellen Louise Jones – Welsh Labour

Phillip Henry Prosser – Welsh Labour

Diane Rowberry – Welsh Labour

Alyson Elizabeth Tippings – Welsh Labour

SIX BELLS – electing three councillors

Peter Adamson – Welsh Labour

Charlotte Beverley Anne Lucas Plaid Cymru – The Party of Wales

TREDEGAR CENTRAL & WEST – electing eight councillors

Jacqueline Thomas – Welsh Labour

Mark Anthony Turner – Welsh Labour.


%d bloggers like this: