Wales News Online

Local & National News for Wales

Plaid Cymru Candidate, Dafydd Llywelyn re-elected as Dyfed-Powys Police and Crime Commissioner

ON Sunday, 9 May 2021, it was confirmed that Plaid Cymru Candidate, Dafydd Llywelyn was re-elected as the Dyfed-Powys Police and Crime Commissioner following the election on 6th of May 2021.

The four candidates standing for election were:

Jon Burns (Conservative)
Dafydd Llywelyn (Plaid Cymru)
Philippa Thompson (Labour)
Glyn Preston (Welsh Liberal Democrats)

Dafydd Llywelyn issued the following statement: “I am extremely pleased to be re-elected as your Police and Crime Commissioner. As your current Commissioner, operational, front-line policing has, and always will come before party politics. I have a strong track record of delivering on my promises and of listening to the communities of Dyfed Powys. I am proud of what I have achieved since 2016, but there is still so much to do.

“Your safety is my top priority. I want to ensure that the Dyfed Powys Police Force remains one of the safest places to live in Wales and England.”

PCC elections use the Supplementary Vote system, which is different to a normal election.
Supplementary voting is when voters mark on the ballot paper their first choice and can – if they wish, it’s not compulsory – mark on the ballot paper their second choice too.

If a candidate receives more than half of all the first choice votes, they are elected immediately.
The results for Dyfed-Powys Police and Crime Commissioner’s elections were as follows:

1st Round

Jon Burns (Conservatives); 69,112
Dafydd Llywelyn (Plaid Cymru); 68208

Philippa Thompson (Labour): 48033
Glyn Preston (Welsh Liberal Democrats) 17649
2nd Round

Jon Burns: 8209
Dafydd Llywelyn: 26280

This was the third time police and crime commissioner elections have been held. The election was originally due to take place in May 2020 but was postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic.
The new PCC term begins on Thursday 13th of May 2021.

%d bloggers like this: