Wales News Online

Local & National News for Wales

Welsh Ambulance Service honours staff and volunteers at their 2020 awards

THE Welsh Ambulance Service has honoured its staff and volunteers at its fifth annual staff awards ceremony.

More than a dozen awards were presented to colleagues across Wales at tonight’s virtual ceremony, as well as a trio of special awards in celebration of the World Health Organisation’s International Year of the Nurse and Midwife.

A moving tribute was also paid to lost colleagues, including Swansea paramedic Gerallt Davies MBE, who died in April after contracting coronavirus.

Chief Executive Jason Killens said: “Our staff awards are a brilliant way to recognise the sterling efforts of staff and volunteers who demonstrate overwhelming commitment and do a great job for the people of Wales, every day.

“The Covid-19 pandemic meant we couldn’t host the ceremony in the usual way this year, but it has given us the opportunity to pause and reflect on our achievements in a different way.

“It’s been a really tough year for the NHS, so it’s more important than ever to take stock of the last 12 months and say a big thank you to our people, without whom Wales’ national ambulance service simply would not exist.”

Chair Martin Woodford added: “Often, our people don’t realise that what they do is special; they see it as part of their daily job, so the staff awards are an excellent way to shine a light on their work and recognise that effort.

“We heard some incredible stories as part of the ceremony, and I’d like to extend a huge heartfelt congratulations to all of our winners.”

And the winners are –

Emergency Medical Service Award
Nigel James (Paramedic, Newport) – for his bravery and quick-thinking actions at a complex 999 call.

Non-Emergency Patient Transport Service Award
Kayleigh Wheeler (Operational Team Leader, Dobshill) – for her exemplary leadership and want to make a difference.

Clinical Contact Centre Award
Simon Wellington (111 Systems Developer, Swansea) – for being an integral part of the Clinical Contact Centre community and a positive role model to others.

People’s Choice Award
David Moodley (Paramedic, Hawthorn) – for his quick-thinking actions which saved the life of a schoolboy on two separate occasions.

Great Listener Award
Glyn Thomas (Community First Responder Manager, Swansea) – for enabling Community First Responders to be their best by listening and taking action.

Learning and Innovation Award
James Haley (Assistant Finance Manager, Cwmbran) – for facilitating innovative new training and development opportunities for colleagues.

Inspiring Others Award
Jonathan Turnbull-Ross (Assistant Director of Quality Governance, St Asaph) – for supporting colleagues to embrace quality improvement and his collaboration work with partners.

Support Services Award
Andrew Wilkins (Receptionist, Swansea) – for his professionalism and willingness to go above and beyond to help colleagues and members of the public alike.

Nursing Compassionate Leadership Award
George Williams (Clinical Manager, Bangor) – for being a compassionate leader and for putting the patient at the heart of everything he does.

Nursing Innovation Award
Tracey Needham (Lead Nurse for Clinical and Systems Development, Cwmbran) – for improving systems and ensuring the public have access to accurate and up-to-date health advice and information.

Nursing Patient Care Award
Elizabeth Price (Practice Coach, Cwmbran) – for being an excellent role model and delivering high quality patient care.

Team of the Year Award
Business Admin Team (Swansea) – for working collaboratively as a team to improve working practices and deliver first-rate administrative support.

Welsh Language Award
Joanne Hodson (Resilience Manager, St Asaph) – for her commitment to learn Welsh and promotion of the Welsh language among her peers.

Chair’s Award
Veronica Wells (Domestic Cleaner, Swansea) – for going above and beyond and being a much-valued member of the team.

Chief Executive’s Award
Dean Caldwell (Emergency Medical Technician, Barry) – for delivering compassionate patient care and his sterling work to support charities.

Gail Williams Award for Clinical and Operational Excellence
David Green (Paramedic, Tredegar) – for his professionalism and exemplary clinical skills at a complex 999 call.

Dr Jennifer Bucknell Community First Responder Award
Presented posthumously to two sorely missed Community First Responders; Bryan Foley, of Barry, who died in June 2020, and Lynn Woolls, of Pontyclun, who died this month.

%d bloggers like this: