Wales News Online

Local & National News for Wales

Welsh Labour announces re-selection of constituency Assembly Members to fight 2021 election

WELSH LABOUR has announced the re-selection of 26 sitting constituency Assembly Members to contest the 2021 election for the National Assembly for Wales.

A re-selection process for Mid and West Wales Regional AMs Joyce Watson and Eluned Morgan will take place separately.

The full list of re-selected Welsh Labour candidates are:

Aberavon: David Rees AM

Alyn and Deeside: Jack Sargeant AM

Blaenau Gwent: Alun Davies AM

Caerphilly: Hefin David AM

Cardiff Central: Jenny Rathbone AM

Cardiff North: Julie Morgan AM

Cardiff South and Penarth: Vaughan Gething AM

Cardiff West: Mark Drakeford AM

Clwyd South: Ken Skates AM

Cynon Valley: Vikki Howells AM

Delyn: Hannah Blythyn AM

Gower: Rebecca Evans AM

Islwyn: Rhianon Passmore AM

Llanelli: Lee Waters AM

Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney: Dawn Bowden AM

Neath: Jeremy Miles AM

Newport East: John Griffiths AM

Newport West: Jayne Bryant AM

Ogmore: Huw Irranca-Davies AM

Pontypridd: Mick Antoniw AM

Swansea East: Mike Hedges AM

Swansea West: Julie James AM

Torfaen: Lynne Neagle AM

Vale of Clwyd: Ann Jones AM

Vale of Glamorgan: Jane Hutt AM

Wrexham: Lesley Griffiths AM

Carwyn Jones AM (Bridgend) has previously indicated his decision not to re-stand. A selection procedure for Bridgend will follow in due course.

In order to be re-selected, AMs needed to secure a majority of nominations from party branches and affiliates in their local Constituency Labour Parties (CLPs).

%d bloggers like this: