Wales News Online

Local & National News for Wales

Eluned Morgan and Joyce Watson head list of Welsh Labour Regional Candidates

WELSH LABOUR’S Wellbeing Minister Eluned Morgan, and Mid and West Wales MS Joyce Watson head up the list of Welsh Labour regional candidates for the 2021 Senedd election.

Fifty five per cent of Welsh Labour regional candidates are women. Thirty per cent of candidates are Black, Asian or minority ethnic (BAME). Local government experience features strongly with the inclusion of Flintshire Council Deputy Leader Cllr Carolyn Thomas, Cllr Ruba Sivagnanam (Vale of Glamorgan), Cllr Majid Rahman (Newport) and Cardiff Lord Mayor Cllr Dan De’Ath.

Former Swansea East MP and part inspiration for the film Pride, Sian James, heads the list in South Wales West. She is joined by Mahaboob Basha, who was awarded a BEM in the Queen’s Birthday Honours List for work in the community during Covid 19.

Welsh Labour members took part in a vote to determine the order that candidates will be listed on the ballot.

Eluned Morgan MS said:

“I really appreciate members putting their trust in me during this challenging time. It has been an absolute privilege to serve as Welsh Labour’s Mid & West Wales representative and to have worked alongside so many inspiring activists over the past term.

“Now, more than ever, we need to retain our Welsh Labour Government against the threat of Plaid’s divisive nationalism and the devastation that could be inflicted on our communities if the Conservatives win in Wales. Welsh Labour has shielded our people and communities from the worst of Tory austerity.

“I am proud to have helped deliver our hopeful, radical agenda and look forward to building on our manifesto commitments to deliver a more equal, prosperous and greener future for our nation.

“Alongside Joyce Watson, I will continue to support our communities; to champion causes and to fight for more equitable and sustainable society for all. As a Minister, my focus will remain on keeping the people of Wales safe during the greatest health threat our country has ever faced.”

Joyce Watson MS said:

“It is a great honour to be chosen for a fourth time, and to win the support of all eight constituencies across mid and west Wales.
“Thank you to all who supported me – I will repay your trust by continuing to stand up for all our communities.
“Eluned and I work well together as a strong Welsh Labour team.”

The full results are listed below.

Regional List Selection Results

North Wales

1. Carolyn Thomas

2. Andy Short

3. Diane Green

4. Ryan O’Gorman

Mid and West Wales

1. Eluned Morgan

2. Joyce Watson

3. Helen Taylor

4. Ben Gwalchmai

South Wales East

1. Helen Cunningham

2. Peter Jones

3. Mary Ann Brocklesby

4. Majid Rahman

South Wales Central

1. Ruba Sivagnanam

2. Dan De’Ath

3. Maliika Kaaba

4. Owain Williams

South Wales West

1. Sian James

2. Kevin Pascoe

3. Neelo Farr

4. Mahaboob Basha

%d bloggers like this: