Wales News Online

Local & National News for Wales

Town Centre Wrexham North East Wales

WREXHAM is among eight winners selected for city status as part of June’s Platinum Jubilee celebrations. It now becomes Wales’s seventh city.

Those who made a bid were required to highlight their royal associations and cultural heritage; also outline heir unique communities and distinct local identity.

The seven other places that have been awarded the royal honor are:

Bangor, Northern Ireland; Colchester, Doncaster and Milton Keynes England; Douglas, Isle of Man; Dunfermline, Scotland; and Stanley, Falkland Islands.

Cllr Mark Pritchard Wrexham Council Leader said:

“It’s fantastic news that Wrexham has been awarded city status, it is a recognition and celebration of what Wrexham County Borough has achieved through its history, institutions and places.”

The other six cities in Wales are:

Bangor in Gwynedd, is Wales’ oldest city; St Davids, Pembrokeshire, was initially made a city in 16th Century because of its cathedral but this status was revoked in 1888, in 1994 was granted again; Cardiff given the title in 1905; Swansea was granted city status in 1969 to mark Prince Charles’s investiture; Newport became a city in 2002 to mark the Queen’s Golden Jubilee; St Asaph was awarded city status in 2012 in recognition of its cathedral.


You are in breach of copyright
error: Content is protected !!
%d bloggers like this: