Wales News Online

Local & National News for Wales

THERE will be some changes to ward boundaries and councillor numbers this election with some residents  voting in new constituencies.

Local Democracy and Boundary Commission for Wales put forward reforms to council boundaries across Wales to create “electoral parity” and a more equal number of constituents per local representative.

In Ceredigion the changes accepted by Welsh Government will see the number of councillors reduced by four – down to 38 members from 42 – and the number of wards reduced by six – down from 40 to 34.

Four of those wards – Aberystwyth Penparcau, Aberystwyth Morlais a Glais, Beulah and Llangoedmor and Aberporth and Y Ferwig – will elect two members and the changes result in an average of 1,384 per councillor.

Aberystwyth Penparcau and Lampeter were previously represented by two elected members.

There are 19 wards where no changes were made.

Ceredigion full council prepared a response to the proposals back in 2018, following consideration by a politically balanced task and finish group.

In 2019 the draft proposals were published and accepted by Welsh Government in 2021.

Changes in Aberystwyth will reduce the number of councillors to five from six.

It recommends combining Capel Dewi and Trefol wards in Llandysul into one ward, with one councillors, and making Troedyraur and Pontshaen and Tregroes into one ward, again with one councillor.

This includes combining the Bronglais, Central and North wards, renaming them Morfa a Glais, with two elected members and Rheidol retaining one representative.

The Llanbadarn Fawr area will be represented by one councillor.

In Lampeter there are no proposed changes to boundaries but the number of councillors will be reduced from two to one.

In New Quay the proposal is to combine with Llanllwchaiarn and the communities of  Llandysiliogogo and Llangrannog will join to make another single member ward.

The outgoing council was made up of 20 Plaid Cymru members, seven Lib Dem councillors, 11 independent members, three in Independent Voice and one member who was ungrouped, after leaving the Lib Dem group.

%d bloggers like this: