Wales News Online

Local & National News for Wales

LABOUR has held on to its Senedd seat in Wrexham after successfully defending a challenge from the Conservatives.

Government minister Lesley Griffiths won the constituency by 1,350 votes, beating Tory candidate Jeremy Kent.

It meant Labour was able to avoid a repeat of the 2019 general election, where the Conservatives pulled off a historic victory in the area.

Wrexham was again a hotly contested seat in the Welsh Parliament with both Prime Minister Boris Johnson and UK Labour leader Sir Keir Starmer visiting the town on the campaign trail in the last few weeks.

Counting took place at Glyndwr University today (Friday, 7 May) instead of overnight due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Ms Griffiths won an overall total of 8,452 votes, followed by Mr Kent on 7,102 and Plaid Cymru’s Carrie Harper with 4,832.

They were followed by Paul Ashton (Abolish the Welsh Assembly) 790, Tim Sly (Lib Dem) 755, Sebastian Ross (UKIP) 378, Charles Dodman (Reform UK) 187 and Aaron Norton (Gwlad) 110 as the turnout increased from 39.5 per cent in 2016 to 43 per cent.

%d bloggers like this: